Combat – Why I like writing about it so much


Me too!

Matthew Sylvester

British infantry serving in Afghanistan - MoD/Crown Copyright/PA Wire British infantry serving in Afghanistan – MoD/Crown Copyright/PA Wire

Combat. There’s nothing I like more – aside from coffee – than reading or writing about combat. I’m not talking about mental-based combat such as psionics or magic, I’m talking about the physical, the visceral, weapons-based and empty-handed combat.

I’ve always enjoyed writing about such things, often to the consternation of my primary school teachers. I even managed to have fairies and elves battling the bears when I wrote about a school trip to Paignton. Much to my mother’s angst, they had a ‘little chat’ with her about how this regularly happened when I wrote a story.

The reason that I love writing such scenes is that not only do I have experience of small-unit tactics due to my university days in the OTC, but I also have 24 years of martial arts experience, with a couple of years as a…

View original post 379 more words

Leave a Reply

