The Fall of Terra #4: It’ll Never Happen to Me


I’d heard it on the newsfeeds, watched the reports; I never thought it would come to this certainly not in my life time.

Reporters stuttering as they themselves didn’t believe what they were reading in front of them.  I remember being sat in Historical lessons learning of ancient myths of world wars ending humanity, but it carried on.  The fear of “The Millennium Bug” causing the world to stop turning, but again, humans lived to tell a funny tale.

Time and time there were rumours, where the next day it was laughed about and then forgotten only now, now there was a real fear. I could hear the screams piercing through my crystal made windows, little explosions lighting the streets outside. I still wasn’t sure if this was the real deal, as I said before I had read up on so many ‘threats’ in years gone by, all I could think of was we would wake up in the morning, a normal day.  I didn’t ever recall reading about explosions or real terror, just speculation; was it really like back then?

Was it all a bit of fun?

Or was it something just to keep us on our toes?

Well it most certainly was doing that.

Fearful and feeling lonely I stepped out; I couldn’t bear the sound of the intense screaming and shouting that was happening outside of my home. Opening the door I could see small fires spread almost evenly along the road, whatever was coming for us knew what it was doing. There were rumours of an Okarnagan resurgence; zombie plague fears, was it some kind of religious cult? Should I be praying for a place somewhere nice and sunny, I didn’t know.

I felt surprisingly calm, with the belief, “It’ll never happen to me”.

Walking down the street carelessly watching the fancy triangular hover-vehicles’ crash spontaneously into sides of buildings, some ricocheted off, others melting into the foundations leaving behind only red mist.  The smell stung my nose somewhat.  There seemed to be people everywhere, buildings half destroyed, this was real.  The sky began changing, looked like many different colours, vibrant greens medium purples, a reflection somehow.

As I turned to look, a woman, a stranger took my hand and held it tight; I could feel her shaking through my clammy scared skin, could she see the future?  Did she know what was happening?  I opened my mouth to speak to her, but the noise surrounded us was deafening.  The sky darkened, my heart which was beating dramatically not so long ago, seemed to calm itself within my frame, a false calm.

An eclipse was coming, I still felt in denial, this wasn’t real the woman stood next to me was in keeping with everyone else. Her eyes wide with fear, someone else’s hand grabbed my other hand a circle was formed, stillness surrounded us.

Darkness fell.

“It’ll never happen to me.”

 

Julz profile

The Author

I am married to a madman doubling as a Shaven Wookiee.

I am the very proud owner of four little humans, one of whom has her own little space ship, whilst she flies solo.

I am a newbie writer, and loving the blogging experience.

I present to you my life after loss and everything in between.

That I really am a little broken, but not beaten.

Living in the world of The Hotel California, an exclusive club, that you are only know it when you are in it.

But once you are here there is no way out.

To show the world that I am actually *almost* normal.

I really hope you enjoy, my little way to build my confidence again….

You can find her at:

Beinghumanish (Blog)

Twitter: @beinghumanish

Facebook Author Page: Beinghumanish

 

 

One thought on “The Fall of Terra #4: It’ll Never Happen to Me

Leave a Reply

