Melody’s Moonwalk


So, with the Olympics opening ceremony out of the way, it’s time for our own big event!

Tonight, from 6pm, will be Melody’s Moonwalk.  For those of you who don’t already know my wife and I lost our 5-week old daughter on April 1st.  She died of sepsis and an infection similar to meningitis and was very sudden.  I’ll admit we’ve been struggling, and certain people have been making things worse, but we’ve got today!

We decided to raise money for the neonatal charity, Bliss.  We’ve made a little money through car boot sales and such and a few donations, but now we’ve got the big event, the Moonwalk!  Tonight, there will be bouncy castles (donated), a BBQ, cream teas, hook-a-fish for the kids, face painting (I think), a drinks bonanza tombola, an auction of my little brother Iain’s cheffing skills, a hot dog eating competition, and of course a bunch of grown men crying whilst having their chests waxed!  Including me!  Gulp.  And then there’s the main event: the Moonwalk, to do as many laps around Tatworth Playing Fields as possible in three hours.  Most are walking, but some are running, some are skipping, and others are doing anything BUT moving forwards.  Don’t ask.

So, should be a good night.

With me in a kilt!

Lol.

So, if any of you are in the Tatworth (South Somerset) area, come on down to the Playing Fields, and have some fun!

See you there!

9 thoughts on “Melody’s Moonwalk

  1. paulaacton says:

    If I were nearer I would come my heart breaks for your loss I was lucky when my monster had menigitis at 7 months he pulled through but I do have close friends who through different illnesses have not been so lucky. I don’t know if you saw my post about the charity evening I attended recently but this is the fb page for The Joseph Salmon trust set up When Neil and Rachel lost their son it may give you a few found raiser ideas and as they are lovely people if you need any advice if you wanted to set up some form of trust in your precious angels name am sure they would help http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Joseph-Salmon-Trust/202759746464033

  2. tincantraveler says:

    It all sounds so magically wonderful! A celebration of life!
    Melody, you are an Angel now and tread the sapphire floors of Paradise!
    My prayers and thoughts are with your parents. Blessings! Annie

  3. yasminselena says:

    So sorry for your loss, that’s grim that some people around you have made such an awful loss harder to bear. I hope the event went well : ) RIP Melody xx

  4. Nicole says:

    I actually did not know this – I think I started reading your blog towards the end of May/beginning of June. So sorry for your loss. I…can understand your comment about how sometimes people can makes things worse. Have been working through my own grief over a fairly recent loss.

    Sounds like you and your wife are doing a great thing to honor the memory of your daughter.

      1. Nicole says:

        Thanks. I only mentioned it to relate that yes, although people mean well, sometimes they don’t understand how to offer support. I know the grieving process is different for each person, including the time it takes to work through it. Again, I think the fundraising event organized by your wife is a wonderful endeavor. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

