Who let that idiot on the road?


Okay, so I haven’t posted anything for a while, not counting the flash fiction “Tales”.  Admittedly, I haven’t had a whole lot going on, besides work, writing, and my driving lessons.

So, driving…

 

I’m terrified of cars.  And I mean TERRIFIED!  I’ve been in six major ‘traffic incidents’ in the last ten years, and I’ve lost friends to car crashes.  So I was putting off learning to drive for a while (I’m 27 now, lol).  Just to put it in perspective, I’m nervous just getting in the car, no matter who’s driving!  Admittedly, there are one or two people who I dread getting in the car with, but those opportunities are few and far between!

So, I’ve had about six lessons now, done roundabouts, which despite dreading beforehand I’ve got a little more confidence in doing.

So far, I haven’t done any reversing, and been ot a few times with my wife, who almost killed me the first time.  She was smoking (she’s a bit of a nervous passenger), and decided to flick the cigarette out of the window when it was finished.  Except that the window wasn’t open that much and it rebounded back into the car, off the dashboard and under her arse.  This is all happening whilst I’m driving along the road!!!!!

I’ve just booked my theory test (august 8th if anyone’s interested), so I’m going to be swotting from now on.  Lol.

Should be fun.

Does anyone have any funny driving stories?

10 thoughts on “Who let that idiot on the road?

  1. Michelle Proulx says:

    Just yesterday my friend was driving me home. Now, she just started driving stick, so she’s still working out how to shift gears. We were on a fairly major road – speed limit 60 km/h – and I don’t know why, but she decided to shift into second gear. But she couldn’t find the gear for about ten seconds, so during that time we basically just coasted along, decelerating rapidly, going from 60 to 10 km/h. The cars behind us started swerving over to the fast lane, and of course my friend was panicking, “Where’s second gear? Where’s second?” She eventually found second, and we continued on our merry way, but it was a bit traumatic for a few seconds lol.

    1. shavenwookiee says:

      Lol, made me chuckle. The problem I have is that the car I’m learning on is a manual, and the car me and my wife have is an automatic! It’s confusing as hell!

  2. Nicole says:

    I had a lot of anxiety over driving and was about your age when I finally got my license. Reading Drive Without Fear: The Insecure Driver’s Guide to Independence by Norman Klein helped me quite a bit.

    I had so much anxiety because the very very first time I went on the road to learn to drive at age 16, I ended up driving straight into a ditch. That…pretty much dampened my desire to drive for quite awhile.

    On top of that, I also have mild claustrophobia, so being stuck behind the wheel of a car doesn’t exactly feel natural to me (sometimes being in the passenger’s seat even brings on bouts of claustrophobia). Visualization (as in visualizing yourself driving safely from point A to B) and positive self talk are what allow me to be a decent driver and calm the anxiety.

    Knock on wood – there is no way in hell I’d ever be inept enough to drive over a cop car!

Leave a Reply

