Close to my heart….


Hey there!

Just to update you a little.  The Package is in full swing now, its only going to be a month or two until I’ve finished the first draft.  Or at least that’s the hope.  I’ve done just over 18,000 words now and on chapter 10, although I’m not sure if that’s any good or not, lol.    Anyway, I’m getting through it quite quickly, and it’s the first time I’ve attempted a novel where I’m actually trying to put over a theme, or a specific message.  Without revealing too much, the subject matter at the heart of the story is very much close to my own heart.

The novel is my effort to raise a little money towards Bliss, the neonatal charity, with the intent of giving all profits I personally make from it to the charity (and I mean all of it!).

So, what’s the novel about?  Well, it starts with a smuggler called “The Samaritan” tricked into taking a passenger and the package she carried back to her homeworld.  Everybody is after her and are willing to do anything to get it, even kill the poor smuggler to do it.  But the smuggler has his own secrets that could drag him down into darkness.  Can his passenger show him the redemption he needs but doesn’t want?

Haven’t decided on a blurb yet, though that came reasonably close to a decent one.

I’m hoping I can perfect this story like no other before it, and more than ever it’s gonna be edited, re-edited, then edited again, and then again, and then some more, and then possibly re-written before being edited again!!!!

*Phew*

I want to be able to do this novel justice, more than any other, and for people to understand the message I’m trying to put across, although I’m confident that probably won’t happen.  I’m an idiot, after all, so there’s not a lot of hope.

Anyways, back to the day job tomorrow!

*Sigh*

Might be able to get in a thousand words before I go though.

See you around the Linkways!

10 thoughts on “Close to my heart….

  1. Paulina Czarnecki says:

    I know exactly how you feel… Your story sounds really good! I’m in the editing stage of my own book, and it’s pretty hard to whip into shape! 🙂

      1. Paulina Czarnecki says:

        I’m editing the first book in a trilogy and starting to write the second, and gathering ideas for the third. 🙂 It’s YA sci-fi.

  2. Matt says:

    I’ve always been meaning to tell you that I love that your banner image is from the Star Wars Prequels and not the originals! Kashyyyk is one of the few cool things about Sith. 🙂

    1. shavenwookiee says:

      Yeah I love Kashyyyk in Sith! Thanks by the way! Despite being so obviously choreographed (god, I can’t spell), the fight between Anakin and Obi-Wan was pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

